Health Minister of India

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare is an ministry in Indian Government that deals with health policy in India. Health minister of India also responsible for all government programs relating to family planning, free medication and other schemes in India.

The health minister of India holds cabinet rank as a member of the Council of Ministers. Rajkumari Amrit Kaur was the first health minister of the Independent India.

Who is The Current Health Minister of India?

Dr Harsh Vardhan

Dr. Harsh Vardhan is the current health minister of India, who additionally is the minister of science and Technology and minister of earth sciences.

He represents Chandni Chowk  as a Member of Parliament in the 17th Lok Sabha election 2019.

13 National Health Programs of India

These health programs are run and managed by health minister of India.

  • National AIDS Control Programme Department Of Aids Control (National AIDS Control Organisation)
  • National Cancer Control Programme
  • National Filaria Control Programme
  • National Iodine Deficiency Disorders Control Programme
  • National Leprosy Eradication Programme
  • National Mental Health Programme 
  • National Programme for Control of Blindness
  • National Programme for Prevention and Control of Deafness National Tobacco Control Programme
  • National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme 
  • Pilot Programme on Prevention and Control of Diabetes, CVD and Stroke
  • Revised National TB Control Programme
  • Universal Immunisation Programme

Department of Health In India

Controlled by Health Minister of India

  • National AIDS Control Organisation (NACO) 
  • Medical Council of India
  • Dental Council of India
  • Pharmacy Council of India
  • Indian Nursing Council
  • All India Institute of Speech and Hearing (AIISH), Mysore
  • All India Institute of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AIIPMR), Mumbai
  • All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Kolkata
  • Hospital Services Consultancy Corporation Limited (HSCC)
  • Food Safety and Standards Authority of India
  • Central Drugs Standard Control Organization

Departments Of AYUSH

Department of AYUSH is no longer in control of Health Ministry.

Research councils

  • Central Council for Research in Ayurveda and Siddha (CCRAS)
  • Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM)
  • Central Council for Research in Homeopathy (CCRH)
  • Central Council for Research in Yoga and Naturopathy (CCRYN)

Educational institutions

  • National Institute of Ayurveda, Jaipur (NIA)
  • National Institute of Siddha, Chennai (NIS)
  • National Institute of Homoeopathy, Kolkata (NIH)
  • National Institute of Naturopathy, Pune (NIN)
  • National Institute of Unani Medicine, Bangalore (NIUM)
  • Institute for Post Graduate Teaching and Research in Ayurveda, Jamnagar, Gujarat (IPGT&RA)
  • Rajendra Memorial Research Institute of Medical Sciences, Patna
  • Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth, New Delhi (RAV)
  • Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga, New Delhi (MDNIY)

Indian Medicine Pharmaceutical Corporation Limited (IMPCL), Mohan, Uttaranchal (a public sector undertaking)

Professional councils

  • Central Council of Homoeopathy (CCH)
  • Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM)

Department of Family Welfare

The Department of Family Welfare is the concern department relating to family welfare, especially in reproductive health, maternal health, pediatrics etc.

The Department of Family Welfare is responsible for:

  • 18 Population Research Centres at six universities and six other institutions across 17 states
  • National Institute of Health and Family Welfare, South Delhi
  • International Institute for Population Sciences, Mumbai
  • Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow
  • Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi: founded in 1911, it is one of the oldest medical research bodies in the world

Who is the First Health Minister of India?

Rajkumari Amrit Kaur was the first health minister of the Independent India.

Rajkumari Bibiji Amrit Kaur was an Indian politician and activist in Indian independence movement. She was appointed as the first Health Minister of India in 1947 and continued until 1957.

During her career as a health minister, she ushered in several healthcare reforms in India and is mostly remembered for her contributions to the sector and her supports to the women’s rights.

Other Activities

The Ministry of health also regularly publishes the Indian Pharmacopoeia since 1955 through Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission (IPC) an autonomous body under the ministry of health for setting standards for drugs, pharmaceuticals and healthcare devices and other health care technologies in India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button