Indian National Cricket Team (Men)

Indian National Cricket TeamThe India men’s national cricket team is controlled by the governing body Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and  a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Test, One-Day International and Twenty 20 International formats.

India was invited for membership of the Imperial Cricket Council in 1926, and played their debut Test in England in 1932 and got the status of test playing nation.

Overview of India Cricket Team
Established Year1926
Test Status Acquired1932
ControllingBoard of Control for Cricket in India
Head CoachRavi Shastri
CaptainVirat Kohli

Records And Statistics of Indian National Cricket Team (Men)

No Result-4103


ICC Rankings214

History of Indian National Cricket Team

As a Test Playing Nation

In 1932 the Indian cricket team first started playing officially, and as a test playing nation. Indian cricket team team’s first tour came against host team England. Playing under the title of “All India” and led by CK Nayudu one of the best batsman of that time and the team performed quite well.

In 1956 Team India first series win came against New Zealand On their tour of India, the Kiwis lost two matches in  5 match Test series which help the Indian Cricket Team with a 2-0 series win.

One Day Success And 1983 World Cup 

During the year 1980s, India developed a more attack-minded batting line-up with batsman like Sunil Gavaskar Dilip Vengsarkar and all-rounders like Kapil Dev and Ravi Shastri. India won the Cricket World Cup in 1983, defeating the favorites and the defending champions West Indies in the final at Lords.

Era Of Legends Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid

Sachin Tendulkar and Anil Kumble ‘s addition to the national team in 1989 and 1990 further improved the team. The next year, Javagal Srinath, one of the India’s fastest bowler made his debut. Despite this, during the 1990s, India did not win any of its 33 Tests outside the indian subcontinent while it won 17 out of 30 Test matches at home.

After being eliminated by neighbors Sri Lanka at the 1996 Cricket World Cup semifinal, the team underwent a year of change as Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid who later to become captains of the team, made their debut in the same test at Lord’s England.

Following that emergence of players like Virendra shewag,Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan and Yuvraj Singh makes Indian national cricket team stronger then ever.

Dhoni 2007 T 20 World Cup

In September 2007, Under Dhoni’s leadership and Yovraj’s performance India won the first-ever Twenty 20 World Cup held in South Africa, beating Pakistan by 5 runs in the final. In 2007–08, India toured Australia where India lost the highly controversial Test series 2–1 but managed to win the CB series final.

In 2nd April 2011, India won 2011 Cricket World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka in the final. The third team after West Indies and Australia to win the World Cup twice. Gautam Gambhir and the captain MS Dhoni led the team with 97 and 91* respectively winning the world cup.

Governing Body BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the governing body for the Indian national cricket team and first-class cricket in India. BCCI has been operating since 1929 and represents India at the International Cricket Council. BCCI is also one of the rich cricket board across the globe and earns most of its profit from sponsorship for various brands such as star India, Oppo and television broadcasts.

Coaching Staff of Indian National Cricket Team

  • Head coach:   Ravi Shastri
  • Batting coach:   Vikram Rathour
  • Bowling coach:   Bharat Arun
  • Fielding coach:   Ramakrishnan Sridhar
  • Manager:   Girish Dongre
  • Strength & Conditioning coach:   Nick Webb
  • Physiotherapist:   Nitin Patel
ICC World Cups

Indian National Cricket Team In ICC World Cups

ICC World Cup ODI

Year/VenueStageMatchesWonNo resultLost
1975 | EnglandGroup Stage3102
1979 | EnglandGroup Stage3003
1983 | EnglandChampions8602
1987 | India, PakistanSemifinals7502
1992 | Australia, New ZealandRound-Robin Stage8215
1996 | Indian Sub ContinentSemifinals7403
1999 | England, Scotland, Ireland, HollandSuper Six8404
2003 | South Africa, Zimbabwe, KenyaRunner-Ups11902
2007 | West IndiesGroup Stage3102
2011 | India, Sri Lanka, BangladeshChampions9711
2015 | Australia, New ZealandSemifinals8701

ICC T20 World Cup

2007 | West IndiesChampions1/1274111
2009 | EnglandSuper 8s7/1252300
2010 | West IndiesSuper 8s8/1252300
2012 | Sri LankaSuper 8s5/1254100
2014 | BangladeshRunners-up2/1665100
2016 | IndiaSemi-finals3/1653200

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply