National Symbols of India

National Symbols of India You Should Know

India has many official national symbols as well as a historical record, a flag, an emblem, an anthem, a memorial tower similarly as many national heroes. All the symbols were picked up at numerous times. The look of the national flag was formally adopted by the Constituent assemblyman simply before independence.

India one of the most bio diverse country with a very rich heritage and quite an interesting history. Most of the national symbols are historical and symbolical. Like national animal tiger shows the power and national bird peacock represents the colorful beauty of India.

List of national symbols of India

  1. National Animal: Bengal Tiger
  2. National Bird: Peacock
  3. National Tree: Banyan Tree
  4. National Flower: Lotus
  5. National Fruit: Mango
  6. National Aquatic animal: Ganga River Dolphin
  7. National River: Ganga
  8. National Reptile: King Cobra
  9. National Heritage Animal: Elephant
  10. National Vegetable: Pumpkin
  11. National Flag: Tiranga
  12. National Anthem: Jana gana mana
  13. National Song: Vande mataram
  14. National Currency: Rupee
  15. National Emblem: Lion Capital of Asoka
  16. National Calendar: Saka Calendar
  17. National Microbe: Lactobacillus delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus
  18. National Pledge: Oath of allegiance

Top 10 National symbols of India

1. National Animal of India- Bengal Tiger

The Bengal tiger is the national animal of India.

The tiger is a panthera tigris population within the Indian subcontinent. it’s listed as endangered on the IUCN Red List since 2008, and was estmated at comprising fewer than 2,500 in number by 2011. it’s threatened by poaching, loss, and fragmentation of surroundings. None of the Tiger Conservation Landscapes among its vary is taken into account massive enough to support an efficient population of quite 250 tigers. India’s tiger population was estimated at 1,706–1,909 in 2010. By 2014, the population had apparently increased to an estimated 2,226 in number.

2. National Bird of India- Peacock


Indian peacock is selected as the national bird of Republic of India. A bird native to the country, the peacock represents the unity of vivid colors and finds references in Indian culture. On Feb 1, 1963, the govt of India have determined to own the Peacock as the national bird of India. the choice has been taken when considering the views of the State Governments and therefore the opinions expressed within the Press.

The Indian peacock has iridescent blue and inexperienced body covering, principally tinny blue and inexperienced, however the green peacock has green and bronze body feathers. In each species, females are as massive as males, however lack the tail and therefore the head ornament. 

3. National Fruit of India- Mango


Mango originated in India and therefore the country is home to over one hundred kinds of the fruit. Mangoes are juicy drupe from various species of tropical trees belonging to the flowering plant genus mangifera, cultivated principally in India. The majority of those species are found in nature as wild mangoes.

The genus belongs to the cashew Anacardiaceae. Mangoes are native to South Asia, from wherever the mango has been distributed worldwide to become one among the foremost wide cultivated fruits within the tropics. other Mangifera species are full-grown on a a lot of localized basis.

Mango is the national fruit of India and Pakistan, and therefore the national tree of Bangladesh. Mango is also the unofficial national fruit of the Philippines.

4. National Flower of India- Lotus


Indian lotus or just lotus, is one in every of two extant species of hydrophyte within the family Nelumbonaceae. it’s usually informally known as water lily. it’s a very wide native distribution, starting from central and northern India, through northern Indochina and East Asia with isolated locations at the Caspian Sea. Lotus is that the national flower of India and Vietnam also.

5. National Tree of India- Banyan Tree


A banyan tree is a plant that grows on another plant, when its seed germinates in a crack or crevice of a host tree or edifice. “Banyan” often specifically denominates Ficus benghalensis . Banyan tree is the national tree of India.

6. National Game of India- Hockey


As a national sports of India, Indian men’s national hockey team was the first non-European team to be a section of the International Hockey Federation. In 1928, the team won its initial Olympic gold medal and till 1960, the Indian men’s team remained unconquered within the Olympic Games, winning six gold medals in a row.

The team had a 30–0 run throughout now, from their initial game till losing within the 1960 gold medal final. Republic of India additionally won the 1975 world cup. India’s squad is that the most eminent team ever within the athletic contest, having won eight gold, one silver and 2 bronze medals.

7. National aquatic animal of India- River Dolphin


The South Asian dolphin is an endangered river dolphin found within the region of South Asia that is split into 2 subspecies, the Ganges dolphin and also the Indus dolphin . The Ganges dolphin is primarily found within the Ganges and river Rivers and their tributaries in Bangladesh, Asian country and Kingdom of Nepal, whereas the Indus dolphin is currently found solely within the main channel of the Indus River in Asian country and active channels connected to that between the Jinnah and Kotri barrages additionally as in the Beas river in India.

From the Nineteen Seventies till 1998, they were thought to be separate species; but, in 1998, their classification was modified from 2 separate species to taxonomic group of one species. The Ganges river dolphin has been recognized by the govt of India as the National Aquatic Animal.

8. National river of India- The Ganga River


The Ganges is a river of Indian Subcontinent which flows through India and Bangladesh. The 2,525 km river rises in the western Himalayas mountain in the Indian state Uttarakhand, and flows south and east through the Gangetic Plain of India and Bangladesh, eventually emptying into the Bay of Bengal.

The Ganges is a lifeline to millions who live along its course. The river is a most sacred river to Hindus, and worshiped as the goddess Ganga in Hinduism.Ganga has been important historically: many former provincial or imperial capitals have been located on its banks.

9. The national emblem of India- Lion Capital of Ashoka


The Lion Capital of Ashoka is a sculpture of 4 Asiatic lions standing back to back, on an elaborate base that has different animals. A graphic illustration of it had been adopted as the official Emblem of India in 1950. it had been originally placed on the highest of the Ashoka pillar at the important Buddhist site of Sarnath by the Emperor Ashoka, in concerning 250 BCE.

10. The National Anthem of India- Jana Gana Mana

Jana Gana Mana is that the national anthem of India. it was originally composed as Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata in Bengali by author Rabindranath Tagore.The first text of the song Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India as the anthem on 24 January 1950. A proper rendition of the anthem takes just about 52 seconds.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Back to top button